IT takes some doing to be BANNED from playing in the Fifa World Cup – but a few have managed it and Ecuador could become the latest.

The South American nation sealed a spot at the 2022 tournament in Qatar after finishing fourth in their World Cup qualifying group.

But a complaint was made to Fifa against Ecuador by the Chilean FA in April.

Chile have claimed Bryon Castillo used a fake birth certificate and was an illegal immigrant.

Castillo has ten caps for Ecuador and helped them reach the finals.

The Chilean FA stated Castillo was, in fact, born in Colombia in 1995 instead of Ecuador in 1998.


Ecuador face being kicked out of World Cup amid ‘fake Castillo passport scandal’

Win a Ford Ranger Raptor + £1,500 or £33k alternative from just 89p with The Sun

A report by the Daily Mail also claims the confession to a false birth certificate was made in an official investigation and was COVERED UP by the Ecuador Football Federation.

And as a result, Ecuador face being booted out of the World Cup, which starts in November.

An official decision on the matter is expected on Thursday.

Chile are hopeful they will be able to take Ecuador's place in Qatar.

Most read in Football


Bayern Munich fans display banner slamming Uefa's response to the Queen's death


Spurs COLLAPSE in injury time to lose first match since April


Chelsea offer PSG chief Luis Campos £135k a week as sporting director


Everton sign Eldin Jakupovic on a free as Lampard fights keeper injury crisis


With an early World Cup exit on the cards for Ecuador, SunSport looks back at the seven other countries that have managed to be banned from football's most prestigious tournament.

Germany & Japan – 1950 World Cup

Wars have consequences.

The 1942 and 1946 World Cups were cancelled due to World War II, but the tournament returned in 1950.

However, Germany and Japan were not allowed to be involved due to their role in the six-year global conflict.

South Americans Uruguay went on to win the tournament, beating Brazil 2-1 in their own back yard.

Sweden finished third and Spain fourth.

South Africa – 1961-1992

South Africa introduced its first racist policy in sport in 1956.

Leagues had been divided by race, and black-owned football clubs were officially not recognised as equal members to white-owned clubs, according to South African History Online.

And in 1961, during apartheid, South Africa were expelled from Fifa.

They were reinstated in 1963, but expelled again after proposing to send an all-white national team to play in the England 1966 World Cup and a Black national team to play in the Mexico 1970 World Cup.

South Africa were reinstated in 1992, a move motivated by the government's release of all political prisoners and the open negotiation process of all political parties in the country.

Fifa would later hand South Africa the 2010 World Cup – becoming the first African country to host the tournament.

Mexico – 1990 World Cup

A two-year ban saw Mexico miss out on Italia 90.

Mexico were banned by Fifa after fielding four players that were above the age limit in the qualifying round of the world junior tournament.

West Germany went on to win the tournament, beating Argentina in the final.

Host nation Italy finished third, followed by England in fourth.

Chile – 1994 World Cup

Chile goalkeeper Roberto Rojas pretended to be hurt by a flare thrown by a fan during a clash with Brazil in 1989.

But it was Rojas who hurt himself, using a hidden blade in his glove.

As a result, Fifa banned Chile from the 1994 tournament and Rojas was banned for life.

The World Cup held in the States went on to be won by Brazil, who beat Italy in the final.

Myanmar – 2006 World Cup

Myanmar pulled out of a 2002 World Cup qualifying match that was scheduled to be played in Iran.

Fifa fined Myanmar £20,000 and banned them from competing in the 2006 edition of the tournament held in Germany.

Italy went on to claim their fourth world crown, beating France on penalties in a game which saw Zinedine Zidane sent off for a headbutt on Marco Materazzi.

Read More on The Sun

Charles’ staff left heartbroken as they’re axed during Queen church service

Mystery as Queen’s undertaker removes hearse window ad during six hour drive

Russia – 2022 World Cup

Russia were globally condemned, for the most part, following their invasion of neighbouring Ukraine earlier this year.

Fifa decided Russia would be banned from participating in the Qatar World Cup and booted them out of the play-offs, where they were due to face Poland.

Poland went on to win their play-off route to reach the finals after beating Sweden 2-0.

Source: Read Full Article