Star Wars Timeline: Chronological Watch Order For All Disney Plus Movies & TV Shows

Over the course of ten movies and four TV series, Star Wars cover a lot of ground (not to mention space), and it’s only getting bigger. In fact, between The Phantom Menace to The Rise of Skywalker, there are 67 years of Jedi, bounty hunting, and transitions of power to keep track of. But when do all these movies take place in the Star Wars timeline, and how do you watch it all on Disney+, chronologically? We’re here to help–and you may need it if you’re hoping to catch up in time to catch Episode 9 in theaters anytime soon. Luckily, Disney+ will let you watch all of the most important stuff, with one exception that Netflix can help with. Here’s the chronological watch order for all of Star Wars’ key entries.

As of this writing, there have been 10 Star Wars movies and four series that have been released, including The Mandalorian which has new episodes drop on Fridays on Disney+ (with the exception of this week; Episode 7 released on Wednesday to avoid the overlap with Episode IX). And there is still more coming down the line: There are two more Disney+ original series coming in the near future about Obi-Wan and Cassian Andor, and–of course–Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker is now in theaters. If you’ve already seen it (especially after a fresh rewatch of the previous movies), check out our roundup of Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker Easter eggs that you might have missed, or see what the critics are saying.

Star Wars News

  • How Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker Ends For Every Major Character
  • Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – 48 Easter Eggs From Past Movies
  • Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker Review – A Galactic Disappointment
  • Star Wars Timeline: How To Watch It All In Order On Disney Plus
  • Is Baby Yoda In Star Wars 9: The Rise Of Skywalker?

There are hundreds of hours of stories that take place within the Star Wars Universe, so figuring out how to watch it all and what order it takes place in can be a bit tasking. So GameSpot has a handy-dandy list below of every movie and TV show within Star Wars canon and when it happens. Don’t ask about the Marvel Comics series though. That’s a whole other beast.

Below, you’ll find the entire Star Wars timeline in chronological order. It’s separated into two sections: Before the Battle of Yavin (BBY) and After the Battle of Yavin (ABY). The Battle of Yavin is when Luke Skywalker blew up the Death Star in Episode 4: A New Hope.

Additionally, both the Obi-Wan and Cassian Andor Disney+ are on this list, even though they have not been released yet. It doesn’t hurt to know when they take place in the Star Wars timeline.

Star Wars Chronology Watch Order:

Before The Battle of Yavin:

  • Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace (32 BBY)
  • Star Wars Episode 2: Attack of the Clones (22 BBY)
  • Clone Wars (22-19 BBY)
  • Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith (19 BBY)
  • Solo (13-10 BBY)
  • Untitled Obi-Wan Series (Possibly early 2021) (11 BBY)*
  • Rebels (5-1 BBY)**
  • Untitled Cassian Andor Series (No date specified yet, but will be BBY)*
  • Rogue One (0 BBY)
  • Star Wars Episode 4: A New Hope (0 BBY/0 ABY)

After the Battle of Yavin:

  • Star Wars Episode 5: The Empire Strikes Back (3 ABY)
  • Star Wars Episode 6: Return of the Jedi (4 ABY)
  • The Mandalorian (11 ABY)
  • Resistance (34 ABY)
  • Star Wars Episode 7: The Force Awakens (34 ABY)
  • Star Wars Episode 8: The Last Jedi (34 ABY)***
  • Star Wars Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker (35 ABY)

*Not released yet

**Epilogue to Rebels takes place 4 ABY

***The Last Jedi is coming to Disney+ on December 26. Until then, it’s available on Netflix.

Source: Read Full Article